top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturenourish_and_nurture

Tomato Soup

Winter = Soup

Am I right? 😍


I never ate soup for many years - and maaaan was I missing out! Now that I’ve started eating soup again my favourite is my moms Butternut Soup.

I got some inspiration last week by someone on Instagram to make a Tomato Soup. I had no recipe to follow so basically used her photos As a guideline and figured the rest out as I went.

I hope you enjoy.


Ingredients:

- 1,5kg tomatoes (chopped length ways)

- 1 large onion (chopped)

- 2 garlic cloves (minced)

- 4 medium carrots (sliced)

- 1/2 cup red lentils

- 6 cups vegetable stock

- 2 tbsp balsamic vinegar

- 4 tbsp olive oil

- 1 tbsp Worcestershire sauce

- 1 tsp paprika

- 2 tsp garlic flakes

- 1 tsp basil

- 1 tsp thyme

- 1 tsp cumin

- 1 tsp chilli flakes

- salt and pepper for taste

- 1/2 cup Greek Yoghurt


Pre-heat oven at 220°C

Arrange tomatoes, cut side up, on a baking tray and drizzle with2 tbsp olive oil, balsamic vinegar, garlic flakes, salt and pepper.

Cook for 20 minutes.

Whilst the tomatoes are cooking, heat the remaining oil in a large pot.

Add onion and garlic, cook until soft.

Add remaining ingredients (spices and herbs, carrots, lentils, veg stock), keep the yoghurt to add at the end.

Bring to the boil.

Once tomatoes are cooked, peel the skin off them and purée all the tomatoes.

Add the tomato purée and yoghurt to the boiling pot and reduce heat, let simmer for 5-10 minutes until heated through.

Serve warm with your favourite slice of bread.

Enjoy!


Jess x






54 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page