top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturenourish_and_nurture

Apple Brownies

Days off, public holidays and weekends are made for baking.


So one thing you should know about me is that I have a weird sweet tooth. Weird in the sense that I don’t actually need things to be sweet at all. So I always need my mom to taste test my cooking and baking for me. And truth be told we have such different tastes! My first time making these brownies I enjoyed them but my mom said they were extremely bland. So the second time I added some dates, peanut butter and dark chocolate topping. She seemed to enjoy that more! Hopefully the recipe is enjoyable to all of you. If you know you enjoy sweeter things then maybe add some xylitol, date hunny or syrup. About 1/4 cup should be enough. Always remember that adding sugar is also adding extra calories. But whose counting 😉



This recipe serves 12 reasonable squares.


Ingredients:

  • 3 large apples (5 medium ones), peeled and chopped

  • 50g pitted dates, chopped

  • 1 1/2 cups oat flour (you can use any kind of flour or blend your oats into flour)

  • 1/2 cup cocoa powder

  • 1/4 cup vegan butter

  • 1/4 cup peanut butter

  • 1 tsp baking powder

  • 1/2 tsp baking soda


Instructions:

Preheat oven at 180°C.

Cook apples over medium heat with 2 tbsp water until apples are soft and mushy. Let it cool down and blend into an apple sauce.

Mix dry ingredients into a bowl.

Melt butter and peanut butter. Add into the bowl with dry ingredients along with the apple sauce and dates.

Stir until all ingredients are mixed.

Pour batter into a square tin and bake for 20-25 minutes.

When the brownies are baked- add toppings of your choice. Dark chocolate and peanut butter.


Enjoy with your loved ones.


Each portion has approximately:

138 calories (580kJ)

15,5 g Carbohydrates

4 g Protein

6,5 g Fat

Jess ✨




113 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page