top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturenourish_and_nurture

Homemade Oat Milk

In my whole life I would have never thought I’d be making milk, or at least trying to make milk.

I use Soy Milk as my milk alternative. I enjoy the taste compared to almond and rice milk. Soy milk seems creamier and the taste isn’t overpowering. The other day I saw somebody making some homemade almond milk on Instagram. I thought that would be a cool thing to try but I definitely will not make almond milk because:

1. Almonds are super expensive (lol)

2. I don’t really like almond milk anyway.

And that is what lead me here. I learnt 3 things during this process:

1. Invest in a straining bag

2. It takes very long without a strain bag

3. I should have thought to buy a strain bag before attempting to make milk! Haha, anyway I enjoyed making the milk, it used a coffee filter and kept all the pulp to use in some of my morning oats tomorrow.

Ingredients:

- 3 cups of water

- 3/4 cup oats

- Pinch of salt

- You will need a blender and a straining bag or a coffee filter



Add everything into the blender and blend for 30 seconds. Once done pour milk through a strain bag or filter.

Keep the pulp for another meal or baking (oatmeal, biscuits, etc.) Enjoy the creamy milk in you next cup of coffee.


Jess




48 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page